Saturday, December 26, 2009

"A Cry for Help"

I'm excited to report that my good friend Andrew Hosner of Thinkspace Gallery asked me to co-curate their January 8th benefit group show with him. Consequently, I've asked just about all my favorite artists to participate, and their marvelous contributions have started to pour in already. I hope that anyone who's in the area will come out for the fun!

João Ruas – "Beggar"


Thinkspace is proud to present "A Cry For Help," a benefit exhibition with the goal of raising awareness about the plight of animals in our modern world. Featuring more than 100 artists who represent every branch of the new contemporary scene, this show has been curated with an eye to representing the unique and innovative attributes of a select group of seasoned veterans and fresh-eyed newcomers from five continents. In keeping with the benefit's mission, each artist will explore different facets of our complicated relationship with the creatures with whom we share this planet.

Jason Limón – "The Skies Will Miss You"


Though we live in the city, animals exist all around us – they sleep in our beds, creep past our windows at night and visit us in our dreams. Symbolizing all that is free, unspoiled and elemental in the world, they also comfort us with guileless affection, amuse us with their playful abandon, and represent us metaphorically in a million works of art and literature. In every niche of the new contemporary scene, artists have employed animals to envisage concepts ranging from the wonder of childhood to the death of nature, while exploiting an ever-widening array of aesthetics, from surreal naturalism to street fables, apocalyptic visions to modern mythology, uncanny allegories to sylvan dreamscapes.

Edwin Ushiro – "Study for: 'He Still Breathes Through
Everything I See'"


In celebration of the magnificent creatures with whom we share the planet, Thinkspace will donate 20% of the sale price of each piece of art to Born Free USA and the Animal Protection Institute, which operate jointly as a non-profit organization that advocates worldwide for the ethical treatment and protection of animals, and also maintains a large sanctuary for rescued primates. Throughout the month, the gallery will host pet adoptions, slide shows, lectures and more. Don't miss this opportunity to kick off the new year with a good deed, as well as a great piece of art!



Kevin Titzer – "Diver"


Elisabeth Timpone – "Fig. 1 (The New Battle of Midway Atoll)"


Heiko Müller – "The Penguins"


Acorn www.flickr.com/photos/acornsgrow
Allison Sommers allisonsommers.typepad.com
Amy Sol www.amysol.com
Andrea Offermann www.andreaoffermann.com
Andrew Hem www.andrewhem.com
Angry Woebots www.armyofsnipers.com
Anthony Clarkson www.anthonyclarksonart.com
Anthony Ausgang www.ausgangart.com
Apak apakstudio.com
Ashira Siegel www.redridinghoodproductions.com
Ben Strawn benstrawn.carbonmade.com
Bradley Delay www.delayart.com
Buff Monster www.buffmonster.com
Bumblebee www.flickr.com/photos/theuglyyou
Catherine Brooks thearborgeistproject.tumblr.com
Charlie Immer www.charlieimmer.com
Chet Zar www.chetzar.com
Chris Murray www.chrisbmurray.com
Craig "Skibs" Barker www.skibsart.com
Dabs Myla www.dabsmyla.com
Dan May dan-may.com
Dan Quintana www.myspace.com/artslinger
Dan-ah Kim www.dkim-art.com
David MacDowell www.macdowellstudio.com
Dennis Hayes IV www.dennishayesiv.com
Derek Ihnat www.myspace.com/visual_feast
Edwin Ushiro www.mrushiro.com
ELBOW-TOE www.elbow-toe.com
Elisabeth Timpone listimpone.blogspot.com
Erik Siador www.eriksiador.com
Faith 47 www.faith47.com
Gaia gaiastreetart.com
Genevive Zacconi www.genevive.com
Germs www.germs4u.com
Ghostpatrol ghostpatrol.net
Guy McKinley www.flickr.com/photos/guymckinley
Heiko Müller www.heikomueller.de
Imminent Disaster flickr.com/photos/disasterstrikes
J. Shea jshea9blog.blogspot.com
Jacub Gagnon www.jacubgagnon.com
Janet Grey
Jason Limon www.limon-art.com
Jason Thielke www.jasonthielke.com
Jen Lobo jenlobo.com
Jennybird Alcantara www.jennybirdart.com
Jesse Hotchkiss www.jessehotchkiss.com
Jim Darling www.jimdarling.com
João Ruas souvlaki.jp-ar.org
John Park
Johnny 'KMNDZ' Rodriguez www.kmndz.com
Joseph McSween (aka 2H) www.myspace.com/2hatred
Joshua Mays soldren.com
Josie Morway www.josiemorway.com
Justin Gibbens www.justingibbens.com
Katelyn Alain www.katelynalain.com
Kathleen Lolley www.lolleyland.com
Kelly McKernan kellymckernan.com
Kelly Vivanco www.kellyvivanco.com
Kevin Earl Taylor www.kevinearltaylor.com
Kevin Titzer www.kevintitzer.com
Kris Lewis www.krislewisart.com
Leontine Greenberg leontinemay.com
Lesley Reppeteaux www.reppeteaux.com
Liz Brizzi www.lizbrizzi.com
Liz McGrath www.elizabethmcgrath.com
Luke Kopycinski koppa.carbonmade.com
Mari Inukai www.mariinukai.com
Martin Wittfooth www.martinwittfooth.com
Michael Pukac www.michaelpukac.com
Mike Brown www.myspace.com/funpig
Moki www.mioke.de
Molly Crabapple www.mollycrabapple.com
Nathan DeYoung www.nathandeyoung.com
Nimit Malavia www.nimitmalavia.com
Nouar www.noirnouar.com
Paul Barnes www.paul-barnes.com
Peter Taylor www.handmadefeat.com
Raquel Aparicio www.raquelissima.com
Rebecca Hahn rebeccahahn.com
Renee French reneefrench.blogspot.com
Rob Sato www.robsato.com
Rory Kurtz www.rorykurtzillustration.com
Sarah Joncas www.teapartylove.digitalinkz.com
Scott Belcastro www.scottbelcastro.com
Scott G. Brooks www.scottgbrooks.com
Scott Radke www.scottradke.com
Tadaomi Shibuya www.tadaomishibuya.com
Tessar Lo www.tessarlo.com
Timothy Karpinski timothykarpinski.com
Tina Darling tinadarling.com
Tran Nguyen www.trannguyen.org
Travis Louie www.travislouie.com
Van Arno www.vanarno.com
Wesley Burt www.wesleyburt.com
Yoskay Yamamoto yoskay.com
Yosuke Ueno www.spaceegg77.com

Kelly Vivanco – "A Serious Matter"

2 comments:

Bakkanekko said...

Wow!! I love the first sketch very much!!

amy said...

I like cats too. This show looks very compelling- I found your blog on My Love For You is a Stampede of Horses. I am a vegan and an artist, but I don't necessarily make art about veganism, though animals are featured in a lot of my work. I would love it if you would stop by my website. Best of luck with the exhibition! It is a wonderful cause!
http://www.amysacksteder.com